Latrobe Council’s 2020-21 Community Grants Program has now closed.


UTAS Bursary - closes 31 October annually

Each year, Latrobe Council offers $3,000 annually through the UTAS to assist a resident of the municipality to access tertiary study.

Available to a student from the Latrobe Municipality (Postcode 7307) who is commencing undergraduate study at the University of Tasmania in Semester 1.  Work experience opportunities with the Latrobe Council may also be available.
To retain this bursary, recipients are required to achieve a minimum Pass result in all units studied each semester.

Applications close 31 October.

Apply online prior to the closing date.

Applications cannot be submitted after the closing date.

As applicants will be assessed on the quality of application, all questions should be answered in full. Please ensure care is taken with spelling and grammar.

Y11-12 Education Bursary - closes second Friday in December annually

This Education Scholarship is part of Latrobe Council’s Community Grants Program which provides a commitment to work together with residents to support education opportunities.

This scholarship can assist Latrobe Municipality residents and/or their children to turn their vision into reality.

The Scholarship is open to residents of the Latrobe Municipality aged between 16 and 20 years and in receipt of or included on a Health Care Card, who want to further their education to Year 11 and 12.

The scholarship can be used towards the out of pocket expenses incurred in order to complete studies including excursions, travel, fees, books, supplies and tutoring and will be provided to the college/educational institution or relevant business.

The successful application must retain an attendance record of at least 90% for the duration of the scholarship.

This scholarship is offered under the condition of remaining in Year 11 or 12 for the term of the school year that the scholarship applies.   Students who leave before the end of the school year may be required to repay a pro rata amount of their scholarship.

A maximum of $1,000 will be paid with one (1) scholarship offered annually.

Refer here to full Guidelines.

How do I apply?

  1. Fill in the application form and ask us for help along the way.
  2. You may be asked to provide more information before a final decision is made.
  3. We will write to you to let you know, if your application is successful.
  4. Applications must be submitted by 4.00pm on the second Friday in December to Latrobe Council.

We are happy to hear from you so please if you have any questions about the scholarship program call Council’s Community Development Officer on 6426 4444.


Requests for financial assistance from persons chosen to represent Tasmania/Australia in sporting, social economic, environmental development and/or related to the wellbeing of the community are received by Council throughout the year, generally in the form of a letter to the General Manager.

To respond consistently to such applications, Council has established a Donations Policy.

Assistance will be provided to residents of the Latrobe Municipality within the following structure:


 Interstate representation - $100
 Overseas representation - $200
 Commonwealth, Olympic Games or World Championship representation - $500

Teams - capped at $200

Funding will not be provided to officials and are capped at one application per sport per year.

A copy of proof of selection from a recognised governing body (or equivalent) must be provided.

By way of acquittal, within six (6) weeks of participation completion,

  • recipients of up to and including $200 donations are to provide to Council two images in jpeg format with captions for public use by Council.   Recipients are to ensure that permission is sought from individuals in photos.
  • recipients of donations over $200 are to comply with Condition 10 plus provide a short report in relation to their participation at the event

The address for donations is P O Box 63, Latrobe, 7307 or forward by email to for the attention of the Council's Community Development Officer.